How to Sell a Gun in South Carolina

A comprehensive guide

To legally sell a firearm in South Carolina, it's essential to be well-versed in both state and federal laws to guarantee a lawful and seamless sale. This knowledge is vital whether you've been a firearm owner for years or have newly acquired a gun through inheritance. Understanding your legal responsibilities and available options is key to ensuring a compliant transaction.

Options for Selling a Gun in South Carolina

There are numerous options available when considering the sale of firearms in the state of South Carolina.

Sell your gun to

Sell to is a trusted online platform for selling firearms. We offer a straightforward and secure way to legally sell your gun quickly and easily. Simply submit a few details about your firearm, including its make, model, and condition, and we'll provide you with an instant quote.

  • Read our reviews - our customers highlight the ease, fairness, and efficiency we provide to our customers.
  • Our process - we simplify the process of selling firearms.

Sell your gun to a local dealer

Sell to a Local Dealer

Licensed dealers can handle all aspects of the sale, ensuring compliance with all state and federal laws.

Sell your gun through a private collection

Sell Through a Private Transaction

Direct sales to another individual are permitted, but come with specific legal responsibilities, both for the state of South Carolina and federally.

State Laws for Selling a Gun in South Carolina

South Carolina's firearms legislation is less restrictive than most states. South Carolina is a "shall issue" state for citizens and lawful permanent residents who are 21 years or older. As of February 23, 2023, open carry of handguns and long guns is allowed without a state issued permit.

S.C. Code § 23-31-510(1) prohibits local governments from enacting laws regulating the transfer, ownership, possession, carrying, or transportation of firearms, ammunition, components of firearms, except as specifically provided by state law.

General Resources:

South Carolina ID Requirements

Identification Requirements

In South Carolina, private sellers are not required to conduct universal background checks or maintain any records for the sale, however identification is recommended if you wish to maintain a record of the transaction.

Additionally, S.C. Code Ann. § 16-23-30(A) states that individuals may not transfer firearms to anyone who is prohibited from possessing them under state law, while S.C. Code Ann. § 16-23-530(B) outlines restrictions for knowingly transferring firearms to anyone unlawfully in the United States.

South Carolina Waiting Periods

Waiting Periods

There is no waiting period to purchase a gun in South Carolina.

Age Requirements in South Carolina

Age requirements

South Carolina does not have a minimum age limit for possessing rifles or shotguns. To purchase a firearm, you must pass a background check and be at least 18 years old.

Background Checks in South Carolina

Background Checks in Private Sales

Private firearms transfers (i.e., transfers by non-firearms dealers) are not subject to a background check requirement in South Carolina. South Carolina law prohibits knowingly selling, offering to sell, delivering, leasing, renting, bartering, exchanging, or transporting for sale into the state any handgun to a person prohibited from possessing handguns under South Carolina law.

Ineligible Persons in South Carolina

Ineligible Persons

Prohibited possessors are outlined in South Carolina Code of Laws § 16-23-10

It is illegal to possess a handgun if a person:

  • Has been convicted of a crime of violence
  • Is a fugitive from justice
  • Is habitually drunk
  • Is a drug addict
  • Has been adjudicated mentally incompetent
  • Is a member of a subversive organization
  • Is under the age of eighteen
  • Has been adjudged unfit to carry or possess a firearm by a court

It is unlawful to possess ammunition or any firearm if a person:

  • Has been convicted of a violent crime that is classified as a felony offense

South Carolina Residents Must Follow Federal Laws for Private Transactions

Federal law requires that the buyer of a firearm must be legally eligible to own a gun.

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) provides guidelines for these transactions.

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives Logo

WeBuyGuns has purchased thousands of firearms from more than 850 locations all over the United States, including South Carolina.

We provide the fastest and easiest way to sell firearms online!

Our user-friendly platform allows you to sell your entire gun collection in just a few simple steps.

Get Started

Selling Your Gun — Our Process

The first step is to create an account.

From there you can individually submit the firearms in your collection. This process includes answering a few short questions about each firearm in your collection and uploading a couple photos. We will send you an official offer on your firearms within 24 business hours. You will then have two weeks to decide if our offers are right for you! If you accept our offers, will provide you with a series of pre-paid shipping labels, which you can use to ship us your gun collection. Once received, we will notify you that you're ready for payment. We will then send you a paper check or ACH direct deposit (your choice). The entire process can take about a week from start to finish. Imagine having your entire collection sold and cash in hand in a week!

Sell Your Handgun Step 1
Tell Us About Your Gun
Fill out a short form and upload a few photos to help us identify your firearms and their condition. We will be in touch with you throughout the entire process.
Sell Your Handgun Step 2
We Verify the Make & Models of All Firearms
We review your information and images to assess the condition of your firearms and determine a fair market value.
Sell Your Handgun Step 3
We Make You an Offer
We will present you with an offer for sale. If you accept the offer, we will provide you with a shipping label and we pay for shipping!

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is this legal?

    Yes. We are a federally licensed firearms dealer located in the state of Indiana. You, the seller, are covered under our license just as you would be if you walked into our store. There are no laws preventing you from selling your firearm to us.

  • How long are offers good for?

    Offers are valid for 14 days.

  • Can I sell multiple firearms?

    Absolutely! Once firearm information has been submitted, you will have the ability to submit additional firearms for review and offers. These firearms will be viewable from your user panel, which you access from your initial offer email.

  • How do I get paid?

    We will either send you a check, or we will issue the funds via a secure ACH direct deposit. During the offer approval process, you will tell us which method of payment you prefer.


The content on is provided as a service to the online community. While we strive to offer reliable and up-to-date information, we do not guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness. Users should exercise their own judgment when using our website and consult appropriate legal resources or an attorney, especially when selling firearms, as we do not provide legal advice.